Samphire Arts

Handmade Brogues

Posted on: January 10, 2011

I absolutely adore beautifully hand-made… Shoes (I know, so does most of the female population and a handful of men!)

But what better example of this other than the, unequivocally, beautifully crafted Brogues that I dote one. I love the detailing on the leather, the hard soles that ‘click’ authoritatively, the unwaxed laces that look like finely knitted brows or even the fine thin waxed ones, the fine stitching running along the tongue and the tip/curve of the Brogue which has to be just right…

I really detest the badly made shapeless silhouettes that I see a lot of people wearing. I call these ‘Foot Mittens’. I am no fashionista but I love a bit of an attitude and respect certain items demand from the wearer. Instantly making you feel sexier or giving you a kick-ass attitude. (Of course there are days I am more than happy to live off my totes/footsies or even better:bare feet when I am at home!)

This artwork is inspired by my love of Brogues…

It started as pencil drawings, moved to pen & ink and finally settled into hand cut prints. And now, re-invented the old pencil drawings I had done earlier onto lovely cotton bags with  hand-painted brogues on them (I love the simplicity of it when it is done in a single colour on the cotton bags).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Items can be purchased as Greeting cards, Prints for Framing or Hand-Painted Bags (please allow at least 2-3 working days as I make your order, specifying any colours you would like me to use).

A5 Print on 300gsm non-toxic watercolour paper

Hand painted cotton bags available in single colour e.g black or 2 colours or your choice (definitely bespoke and one of a kind for every item + more designs available)

Drop me line to order, inquire or just to comment!

Thank you for looking!

Please order in advance allowing time for hand-printing, handmade paper and postage. For more queries or customisation, please get in touch. Please note, hand printed/painted items, products vary as they are not mass-produced on a machine making each item unique in its own rights.

www.ukhandmade.co.uk - Buy Handmade

